The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Holiday Meal Traditions

My oldest daughter is newly married and she called recently to ask for the recipe for the breakfast I make on Christmas morning. She wants to continue this tradition with her new family. Passing on this recipe made me realize that the holiday season is a wonderful time to talk to your children about your special holiday traditions and how they got started.

Since it’s also a time when we are seeing family that may have traveled here for the holidays, it’s also a perfect time to talk to grandparents and other older relatives about how holiday celebrations have changed. I remember my mother telling me how getting an orange on Christmas morning was a real treat – that’s something my children think is very funny!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

