The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Healthy Mama BBQ Chicken Crock Pot Meal

A couple of weeks ago, I put together ten pre-assembled, freeze ahead, crock pot meals that were the subject of a Family Table Tip of the Week. Whoever thought of this is brilliant! It’s like having money in the bank. Ten full meals just waiting to be plugged in!

Our first meal was the Healthy Mama BBQ Chicken—in the morning, into the crock pot it went.

When I got home from work, I put some rice in the rice cooker, set a saucepan full of water to boil and headed upstairs to change out of my work clothes. Then, my jean-clad self put a bag of frozen green veggies into the boiling water and gave my husband the 10 minute warning for supper.

How smug did I feel and the meal was delicious! Actually, the sauce was so good that the chicken was somewhat of an afterthought. If I make it again, I think I will leave the chicken out, which will delight my vegetarian daughter.

– Laura, Finance & Operations, wife & mom of 4

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Tip of the Week: Healthy Mama BBQ Chicken Crock Pot Meal

  1. mamaandbabylove on said:

    Thanks so much for linking back to me! I am coming out with an ecookbook very soon, with a ton of new recipes and great info.
    http://mamaandbabylove.com/2012/03/14/slow-cooker-freezer-meals-ecookbook-coming-soon/

Leave a Reply

