The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: March Madness


I sat down to dinner with my husband and kids the other night and, just like I shared last week, as soon as dinner was over – Zip, Zip; my kids were back out the door to play in this amazing weather! So, I grabbed the Taste of Home magazine that mysteriously shows up on our door step (I think it’s a hint!)  The editor this month was writing about the fun of having meals at other places besides the table; especially during festive occasions, like this month’s March Madness.

Now, admittedly, this game is not as important to some as it is to others, but it got me to thinking about how our ‘family table’ expands during these sorts of festivities.  Everyone considers the meal part of the plan for holidays like Thanksgiving, Easter and even the Fourth of July; but what about the Super Bowl, or this week’s NCAA men’s basketball finals?

Don’t get me wrong, I know that the point is the game.  But, if you’re like me, the fans that aren’t tied to the television are a valuable extension to the party. So, while the cheering is going on in front of the TV, how about inviting the non-fans over for a little catch-up time – I think healthy snacks can offer as much value to that chance to bond as a big meal can on those other holidays!

Oh, and that Taste of Home magazine – here’s a couple fun ideas to add some zip to your next get-together: March Madness Party Ideas With Game

– Frances, Mktg & Comm, wife and mom of 2

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

