The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Accessorizing an Entree

One of the ways I get dinner on the table is to, shall we say, accessorize a previous night’s meal—that sounds way better than “leftovers”, doesn’t it? One of my favorites is Crockpot Chicken Salsa; only 3 ingredients, and unbelievably delicious!  I cook a double batch of the chicken on Sunday, and serve it over rice.  Later in the week, I will serve the chicken in hard tacos, with cheese and lettuce.  

For another meal, I will add a can of black beans and some corn to the chicken, roll it all in soft tacos, and put it in the oven to melt some cheese on top.  I’ve also served it in sandwiches and on top of salad greens as a main course salad.   As long as I throw one or two other meals in during the week, my family doesn’t seem to notice that I’m using Sunday’s chicken again.   I can get two or three meals from my Sunday batch and usually still have enough left over to freeze for an emergency meal.  Putting a family meal on the table doesn’t mean we all have to be nightly gourmet chefs – cooking a big batch of a main course on the weekend and “accessorizing” it during the week can work too!

Crockpot Salsa Chicken

One package (about 1.5 lbs) of boneless, skinless chicken thighs or breasts (thighs are cheaper), one large (24 oz) jar of salsa, one envelope of taco seasoning. 

Put all ingredients in the crockpot, cook on high for 4-6 hours or low for 8+ hours.  Shred the chicken with a fork before serving. 

– Holli, CEO and mom of 7

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

