The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Gardening

These hot days remind me of when I was a kid and my parents had a HUGE garden. Well, to me and my sister, who had to weed it before we could go swimming, it seemed huge. As I think back, that experience of being in the dry dirt, pulling weeds with deep roots was akin to the family table. We talked up a storm. Probably not about much important, but it was a chance to spend time doing something together with a shared benefit – that cool dip in the lake for refreshment.

My parents still grow a (much smaller) garden today. My sister and I, and our families, benefit from the fresh vegetables my dad spends his time weeding. This month, watering too. Too bad I seem to have gotten a black thumb. But, that’s what farmer’s markets are for – right? There, I can still teach my girls that nothing beats a fresh, plump tomato or a just-picked-cucumber.  Thinking about your own fresh tomatoes? Learn more here.

Whichever way you come across your fresh fruits and veggies, I’ve come to the conclusion that gardening is much like a family. Nurture the plants, remove the dangers that impede their growth and tenderly care for them, from blossom to harvest.

– Frances, Mktg & Comm, wife and mom of 2

Next week, we’ll discover some great local markets. We’d love to see you on July 17 at the McMillen Health Lecture Series: Finding Food in Farm Country.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

