The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Memorial Day

mem day

This Week’s Featured Recipe

Growing up, I viewed Memorial Day weekend as the beginning of summer – the pools opened and we were freed from school for what seemed like an endless amount of long, hot summer days.  As a working adult I viewed the Memorial Day weekend as a three day break for a family barbeque, fishing, and a trip to the lake or a local pool.

Last fall my oldest son deployed for Afghanistan and I now see Memorial Day in an entirely new light.  While I may panic when the doorbell rings at an unexpected time, all over America there are families who answered their door to find soldiers on their doorstep who informed them that their loved one would not return from war.  I realized that I have done my children a disservice by not teaching them about the true meaning of Memorial Day; that we live in a free country because, since the 1770s, thousands of men and women have given their lives to protect our country.  Our freedom is owed to those soldiers, and their families.

So this Memorial Day, there will be a barbeque, and a much-awaited visit from my oldest daughter and her husband.  There will also be a time while we eat the first grilled burgers of the season, when I teach my younger children about why we celebrate this weekend and the debt we owe to those who gave their lives for our country.  It’s really about character education and this video from the Travis Manion Foundation does an excellent job of teaching, “If not me, then who?” We will also be putting together a box to send my son, but if you don’t know an active duty service person, consider visiting Honor Our Troops and having your children brighten a soldier’s day by writing a letter or sending a box of goodies to a service member stationed in a combat area.

Holli-Seabury-2012

Holli Seabury, CEO, wife and mom of 7

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

