The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Tips for Working Moms

shutterstock_69639799

This Week’s Featured Recipe

As a working mother of two children, I know there are many families that can relate to the struggle of putting a healthy dinner on the table for your family after a long day at work. Everyone sitting down to dinner together is very important to my family, and we look forward to our family dinners as a time to catch up at the end of each day.

Last week, as I was driving home from work I received a phone call from my husband. He said, “Why don’t you stop for some fast food on your way home so you don’t have to worry about dinner?” I will admit that my family likes fast food on occasion, especially on the weekend, but this was a Tuesday night. I responded by saying, “I will whip up something quick when I get home. See you soon.” In that instant, my mind went through everything in the freezer, refrigerator and pantry, and initially I didn’t come up with any great ideas. Luckily, I remembered I had an easy recipe for alfredo sauce and we enjoyed a delicious chicken alfredo pasta I served with grilled chicken and broccoli.

Here are a few tips I have found to make meal time easier as a working parent:

• Try to keep your kitchen countertops clutter free so you can start cooking right when you get home from work.

• Keep your cooking tools next to your stove to save time running around looking for your favorite knife or spatula.

• Alphabetize your spices to avoid having to look through each one.

• Keep the staples that your family like and use on a regular basis in stock at all times. We even keep a back-up of things like chicken, pork, cheese, noodles, ect.

• Keep an ongoing shopping list. There are even apps for your smartphone now to help keep you more organized.

• Involve your children! They are great helpers and this is an opportunity to talk about how their day went, teach literacy and math skills, and have face time with your kiddos.

The work day might be stressful, but dinner time doesn’t have to be stressful. Hopefully when you get home tonight you can utilize some of these new ideas!

BethanyClapper_2012

Bethany Clapper, Director of Development, wife and mom of 2

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

