The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Healthy Easter Basket Ideas

120331-F-EA289-004 (1)

 Recipe of the week

For this week’s tip we’ve put together some healthy Easter basket ideas from our families to yours!  If you are like me and don’t want to give your children candy every year, then you will find these alternatives helpful. We pinned 50 things to put in Easter eggs besides candy on our Pinterest Holiday board.  Please share the creative ways you celebrate Easter with your family on our Facebook page.

Holli – We do baskets with small toys and very little candy.  The big excitement on Easter morning is an egg hunt – I take the plastic eggs and put one or two jelly beans in each one.  The younger children love hunting for the eggs all over the house!

Bethany – I am giving my one-year old daughter a baby bath book about the Easter bunny and my five-year old son is getting a coloring book and sidewalk chalk. Other things we have given in Easter baskets are: tattoos, bubbles, books, money, paints, cars, and other little toys from the dollar bin, etc. For younger children we’ve bought a stuffed bunny, organic baby cookies/food, and a little chirping chick.

Frances – With the weather on the sunny side, my kids love new sidewalk chalk and jump ropes in their Easter basket. Silly putty (which already comes in an egg!) is super exciting – even my husband likes a new egg of silly putty! My kids are at the age where jewelry – especially earrings and rings – are very popular. And this year, those rubber band bracelets continue to be popular – a package of new rubber bands will fit into a large egg.

Linda – We look for baskets before Sunrise Service celebrating Jesus’ resurrection on Easter morning. In the baskets are usually a pair of socks for each person, bubbles and kites to share, as well as chocolates and jelly beans.

Camy – I have a volleyball for my daughter’s basket this year and a soccer ball for my son and I give them very little candy. One idea could be to write down good things that they have done, or examples of good behaviors, and place them in the plastic eggs instead of candy. They could read them thinking that the Easter Bunny wrote them! We also have done play dough, fingerprint books and sketch books in their baskets.

Scott – My wife and I give our children books, chocolate and a toy. Every Easter we go to an egg hunt at my Dad’s house.

Jodie – I always give a toy or activity book and one chocolate item to my son. Growing up, my Mom always gave my sister and I a basket with candy and a toothbrush with toothpaste.

Twila – We gave cartoon/special underwear during the potty training years, a watch, jewelry or DVDs. We always hid the Easter baskets so the kids had to hunt for their prize.

Kathryn – I am giving my children Mixels Legos to add to their collection. I also like to give books and other items my children may need, such as school supplies.

Debbie – Our Easter festivities include an Easter egg hunt. We fill about half the eggs with candy and the other half with pennies, nickels, dimes, quarters, and dollar bills. We let each child know how many eggs they can collect. There is an outside race to find the Easter eggs. They burn off a few calories during the hunt, and eat a few calories when the hunt is finished! I am not sure what is more fun- but I think it is the hunt!

Hollissa – Here are some ideas: puzzles, Easter themed dollar store items, coloring books, or play dough.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Tip of the Week: Healthy Easter Basket Ideas

  1. I do candy, but much more than that! I get into the Easter basket more than Christmas gifts. I always do a theme of my son’s choice and build from there. He gets toys, character tees, story books, music CD’s, beach towels, sidewalk chalk,bubbles, anything related to the theme. It’s so much fun!

Leave a Reply

