The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Benefits of Juicing – Why I Juice

juicing

Recipe of the Week

Today’s featured guest blogger is Garrick Dee Tan from juicingwithg.com

Before getting into juicing my drink of choice would be a big cup of brewed coffee every morning and in the afternoon. It was the shot of caffeine that had me coming back for more but I was getting old and my cholesterol numbers weren’t good so I was looking for ways to improve on it.

Then I discovered juicing. It was my mom who introduced me to this practice and in a way coaxed me into it because she was generous enough to give me a juicer to use. As I went along juicing I noticed that it had a positive effect on my health and that I didn’t need a shot of caffeine every morning just to be energized.

If you’re still thinking on whether or not you want to start juicing, let me help you out here by laying out the benefits based on my research on experience in about 10 months of drinking fresh unpasteurized juice.

It allows you to eat more vegetables and fruit without overwhelming your digestive system

When you eat fruits and vegetables, your stomach breaks it down then separates fiber from the juices then nutrients is absorbed by your body, the fiber then goes out of your body as a waste product. Think about it for a second, your body acts like a juicer. Well, it is more complicated than that as there are nuances but when you break it down to its basic form that’s the main concept.

By taking out the fiber of the equation, your body will absorb the nutrients directly without overworking the digestive system. Make no mistake that fiber is important because it helps our digestive system flush out waste but let’s be realistic here would you be able to eat two pounds of vegetables and fruit every day?

I’m not talking about completely replacing solid food with liquid because that isn’t sustainable long term. You’ll have to find the right balance in eating enough solid fruits and vegetables to drinking them. Also avoid using recipes that mostly contain fruit because it can spike up the blood sugar levels in your body and cause issues with insulin if you are diabetic.

Your juices should have a base that does not have too much sugar content like a cucumber or zucchini plus a sweetener like apple, oranges or any fruit. If you high blood sugar then minimize the amount of sweet fruits you put in and use something like lemon that has low fructose and glucose content. It may take some time to get use to the taste but the benefits would be worth it.

It helps you consume more vegetables or fruits you’d rather not eat

I don’t like bitter melon, in fact wouldn’t be able to each 1/3 of it even it was cooked by juicing them I’m able to consume half of a large bitter melon. Sure it still tastes bad but by adding stuff like cucumber and orange, I’ll be able to at least mask it and consume more.

The same goes for nutritious stuff you don’t normally eat like ginger. It is normally used with pork or fish dishes to remove odor. Remember that a little ginger goes a long way to adding spicy element to the drink as well as nutritional value.

You’ll not crave for store bought juice anymore

When you get to taste fresh juice and your taste buds get used to it, I can almost guarantee you that you’ll not want to drink any pasteurized stuff that has lots of sugar in it. I used to drink lots of store bought orange juice because I thought I was doing my body a favor and consuming a lot of Vitamin C.

What I didn’t know is that store bought juices are pasteurized meaning it was heated to kill or bacteria and have a longer shelf life, the downside to that is it also kills the live enzymes that your body needs. If I crave for orange juice or something citrusy I just add an orange and/or lemon to the juice I make and it’ll be enough to fill my cravings and I’ll get loads of vitamin C minus the artificial flavoring.

Another favorite of mine and I’m sure a lot of people is canned pineapple juice. You think that’s healthy? Think again, these juices have been pasteurized and have been stored in cans that contain chemicals that may play a role in activating cancer cells in our body. And oh, if you’ll notice that these juices are sweet so it means there is a lot of sugar in there.

Here’s a healthier alternative, why not buy a fresh pineapple or two, take off the crown and skin, chop them off into smaller pieces then juice them in a juicer. This is way better than buying canned or bottle juices in my book, go try it for yourself and let me know what you think.

Garrick Dee
juicingwithg.com

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Benefits of Juicing – Why I Juice

  1. D Bleeke on said:

    As a cancer preventive…..what do think about juicing asparagus and taking four tablespoons per day ?

  2. It’s always inspiring to read other people’s juicing journeys. I knew Garrick’s story from his website but it’s always nice to get a different angle. Thanks for sharing valuable juicing tips!

  3. In this the fruit and vegetables are first ground and
    then the juice is forwarded with the help of a strainer which revolves
    at a very high rpm. The quality of juice obtained from
    an orange juice extractor is not the same as what is mass-produced and sold in stores.

    We found this space age juicer could swallow whole fruit or vegetables in an instant and produce great tasting
    juice for the family to enjoy every time we tried it.

Leave a Reply

