The Family Table

Educating Families About the Benefits of Family Meals

Tip of the Week: Safe Halloween

This Week’s Featured Recipe

They’re dressed up, bundled up and have been told to not cross the street without looking. They’ve assured you that they want to walk the neighborhood by themselves – but your gut (that instinctive-parent savior) screams, “Not this year.”

So, how do you decide when your child(ren) or grandchildren, or nieces and nephews, are old enough to travel with their friends or siblings and collect the candy that will be rampantly available tonight?

If your kids are trick or treating, I found a great resource for family safety – SAFE HALLOWEEN – on the Center for Disease Control and the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission states that children should only visit homes where the residents are known and have outside lights on as a sign of welcome. Worried that your kids will pick up too much candy tonight? Some local dentists are participating in a program to send candy to our troops. Find our more here.

In response to my question above – I wish I knew. My kids are in elementary, and “all their friends” are doing it. My response this year, “Maybe next year, girls!” If you have a great tip – please share it on our Facebook page – my thought this go-’round – when I feel comfortable leaving you at home by yourself, then I will feel comfortable having you walk the neighborhood after dinner by yourself. Let’s hope that is before they graduate!

-Frances

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment